Oxford University Press resources only available to lecturers

August 29, 2010 at 11:53 am Leave a comment

http://www.oup.com/uk/orc/bin/9780199208043/

This is quite stupid.

All the resources that I want… but only if I’m a ‘lecturer’ whatever than means. I wonder what dastardly deeds I could do with figures from the book if I weren’t a lecturer. Thank goodness I don’t have a scanner with which to scan them.

In their favour, I imagine this is a form of greed or coercion (not necessarily bad things). They want to:
i. Get statistics about the adoption of the book for courses.
ii. Have contact details for people who are using this book for teaching purposes

and therefore they make things slightly more difficult if you don’t do this. (Alternatively, they might say they make things slightly easier for people who do these things).

Anyway, if I could remember the UK laws on fair use I would be distinctly tempted to produce and post these materials myself.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Xpath contains Dropbox memory usage

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

